PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Questions, comments, and suggestions for dealing with sequencing specific applications and Sequencer itself.

Moderators: jur, kirk, kkaminsk

PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby skj » Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:46 pm

IBM Client access works fine on 32bit, but on x64 when we launch iseries production shortcut it pops up with below error
"PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS"
by adding user to local admin it works without any error, How do i trobleshoot this issue?
skj
Accomplished Virtualizer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:56 pm

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby jur » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:23 pm

With Process Monitor searching for Access Denied somewhere?
Jurjen van Leeuwen
MVP App-V
Application and Desktop Delivery consultant at Leodesk
Norway
jur
Guru
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby skj » Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:17 pm

On X64 bit machine when i run processmonitor to capture during the error, i get the attached message saying Creating file Q:\pcs21d.tmp ->access denied
Attachments
Qdrive.GIF
Snapshot of process monitor
Qdrive.GIF (78.38 KiB) Viewed 2367 times
skj
Accomplished Virtualizer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:56 pm

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby jur » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:42 pm

That file gets created when on x32 also?
It shouldn't be in the root of Q anyway. Do you have security descriptors on in the package?
Jurjen van Leeuwen
MVP App-V
Application and Desktop Delivery consultant at Leodesk
Norway
jur
Guru
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby skj » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:52 pm

Yes when i run process monitor on x32 it doesnt say access denied
On x64 if i add the user to local administrator group, it works.
when i access Q$ i don't see that file being created though

*I'm not aware of the security descriptor
skj
Accomplished Virtualizer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:56 pm

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby kirk » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:19 pm

During Sequencing, there is that "Deployment" tab after you finished the actual sequencing (note for 4.6 SP1 you'd have to choose the "don't stop/save now... but continue to edit the package to see that)

You can "edit" (=simple open) the package on the Sequencer and adjust the "Enforce Security Descriptor" setting
Falko
kirk
Guru
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby skj » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:30 pm

Can you please provide the steps to do those changes, im using 4.1 Sequencer
skj
Accomplished Virtualizer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:56 pm

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby jur » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:38 pm

Any specific reason why you are using version 4.1 sequencer in combination with newer clients?
Regarding Sec. Descriptors:
I think you can do a quick and dirty test by modifing the registry on the client:
hklm\Software\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Softgrid\4.5\Client\Packages\YourPackageGUID\
EnableACLs = 0 Should disable security descriptors in the package.
Use at your own risk.
Jurjen van Leeuwen
MVP App-V
Application and Desktop Delivery consultant at Leodesk
Norway
jur
Guru
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby skj » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:55 pm

Are we suppose to disable or enable for it to work, i tried both 0 & 1 its not working
skj
Accomplished Virtualizer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:56 pm

Re: PCSWS026 ERROR SAVING WORKSTATION CLIENT ACCESS

Postby jur » Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:22 pm

Then I guess your problem is not related to security Descriptors.
I haven't sequenced the application but maybe you should try packaging it on a x64 sequencer.
You can troubleshoot and search where the file comes from, maybe you can specify its location somewhere in the software.
Possibly use ACT to fix it like Nicke addresses on his blog very nicely: http://www.applepie.se/cmcmarkets-and-horrible-java
But this requires a permanent change to your clients but a much better one than adding the user to the local admin group.
Jurjen van Leeuwen
MVP App-V
Application and Desktop Delivery consultant at Leodesk
Norway
jur
Guru
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Norway


Return to Sequencing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest