Sequencing Access 2016 Runtime

Questions, comments, and suggestions for dealing with sequencing specific applications with, and Sequencer 5.0 itself.

Moderators: kirk, jur, kkaminsk

Post Reply
Chuchvt
Still installing locally
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:26 pm

Sequencing Access 2016 Runtime

Post by Chuchvt » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:31 pm

Currently we have several front end Access databases that use an older version of Access Run time. We are updating them to use Access 2016 run time but since we can't update them all at once we need to have a way for both versions of the run times to work on the computer at the same time.

I am trying to sequence Access 2016 run time. Unfortunately, when I install the App-V package the shortcut I created in the package tries to install a new version of the run time and a basic user in our environment doesn't have the necessary permissions to install software.

Is it possible for me to just create the Access 2016 run time in App-V 5, deploy that to a computer and then have a shortcut on the desktop that uses the 2016 run time?

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Andy

Chuchvt
Still installing locally
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:26 pm

Re: Sequencing Access 2016 Runtime

Post by Chuchvt » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:38 pm

This is what the error message says after installing the Access 2016 runtime App-V application.

Automatic configuration of the current version of Microsoft Access has failed. Your database might not function correctly. This can occur if you do not have the necessary permissions to install Microsoft Access on this computer.

I have added the user account to the local administrators group and I still get this error message.

__NeilA__
Still installing locally
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:03 pm

Re: Sequencing Access 2016 Runtime

Post by __NeilA__ » Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:43 am

First of all, do you have a version of MS Office installed on you base image?
If so what version is it?

Secondly, what are your COM Mode settings configured to in the XML files?

klementin
Still installing locally
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:47 pm

Re: Sequencing Access 2016 Runtime

Post by klementin » Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:49 pm

Hi! Did you find any fix for this? I'm facing the same problem. We have Office 2013 x86 locally.

Post Reply

Return to “Sequencing (5.0)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest