href scripts no longer run after upgrading to the latest ver

Configurating App-V Client components

Moderators: kirk, jur, kkaminsk

Post Reply
md8070
Accomplished Virtualizer
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:25 pm

href scripts no longer run after upgrading to the latest ver

Post by md8070 » Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:08 pm

i know it's friday afternoon before a long weekend but this came to me completely out of the blue

i can't find anyone else having/reporting the same issue

i have the following script which used to run fine with the 4.1.0.56 version
<SCRIPT EVENT="LAUNCH" PROTECT="FALSE" TIMING="PRE" WAIT="TRUE">
<HREF>\\server\share\name.vbs</HREF>
</SCRIPT>

we upgraded to the latest version about two weeks ago but apparently noone tested this particular package and now that i wanted to add one more script i realized that we have a problem.

this script now produces the following message
The SoftGrid Client could not launch {application_name}.
%1 is not a valid Win32 application.
Error code: xxxxxx-xxxxxx6C-800700C1

and here is the link
http://softricity.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ ... _topview=1


is this a problem with the new version or did i get hit by a meteor (again, on friday afternoon)

thanks much

PackagingGURU
Accomplished Virtualizer
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:47 pm
Location: Reading UK

Post by PackagingGURU » Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:16 am

I could be wrong here but don't think you can call .vbs files from within <HREF></HREF> it can normally only contain paths .exe

I've used it like this:
<HREF>wscript.exe \\server\share\name.vbs</HREF>

Same error occurs when you try and publish an application in Citrix which just contains a path to a .vbs

Not sure why it only started failing when you upgraded though.

HTH

ksaunam
Elder
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:58 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Post by ksaunam » Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:10 pm

My guess is that it has started to fail because SoftGrid client now in newest version uses some alternative mechanism when launching HREF scripts..

That something could perhaps be switching from using ShellExecute to CreateProcess, the first using shell (explorer.exe) in background to launch specified file (which can be any document that has been registered to Windows [like vbs] in addition to actual executables) and the second actually creating process directly, demanding real Win32 executable as argument (which vbs is not, but that wscript for example is).

/Kalle

md8070
Accomplished Virtualizer
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:25 pm

Post by md8070 » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:15 pm

you are correct, they have changed that

i prepended %systemroot%\system32\wscript and problem disappeared

i don't think i will ever stop getting surprised by softricity (sorry, microsoft) :twisted:

Post Reply

Return to “Configuring App-V Client”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest