Error ******2A-00000005

Tips, Tricks, and Best Practices for configuring App-V servers

Moderators: kirk, jur, kkaminsk

Post Reply
MikeyBalls
Still installing locally
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:26 am

Error ******2A-00000005

Post by MikeyBalls » Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:51 pm

Hi all

We are starting to see this problem more and more across our Softgrid users:


---- The SoftGrid Client Service version 4.1.1.310 has started ---- (Happens with latest version of the client also)
[06/13/2008 08:01:17.034 MIME INF] {tid=988:usr=****}
Updated MIME information from ****:554/
[06/13/2008 08:24:33.648 JGSW ERR] {tid=638:usr=****}
The SoftGrid client could not retrieve the cache file location from the file system (rc 16D18B2A-00000005).
[06/13/2008 09:04:17.378 SRVC INF] {tid=270}
The SoftGrid Client Service received a stop request from the Service Control Manager and will now attempt to shut down.
[06/13/2008 09:04:18.999 JGSW INF] {tid=270}
The SoftGrid file system was shut down cleanly.
[06/13/2008 09:04:18.999 INTF INF] {tid=270}
The SoftGrid Client Log is shutting down. No further
messages will be logged in this session.


The user will see this problem as a launch failed message on their screen.


This problem is resolvable by stopping and starting the Softgrid service however, that’s not really a permanent fix, as soon as the user logs out and back in again its happens again. This is more of a work around until we get to bottom of the issue than a fix.

Our Softgrid systems runs from VMware and has 2 application servers clustered using NLB connected to a back end SQL DB server.

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks

Mike

ksaunam
Elder
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:58 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Post by ksaunam » Mon Jun 16, 2008 7:24 pm

Is your global data location in the default place (All Users' Documents)?

/Kalle

MikeyBalls
Still installing locally
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:26 am

Post by MikeyBalls » Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:32 am

Thanks,

Yeah the Global dir is:

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\

We're thinking along the lines of its a permission based error but can't find out what its having difficulty with.. The error isn't exactly helpful. :)

Mike

ksaunam
Elder
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:58 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Post by ksaunam » Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:21 pm

So that's in the default place and thus shouldn't cause the problem.. Is users data directory in the default %appdata% as well?

/Kalle

MikeyBalls
Still installing locally
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:26 am

Post by MikeyBalls » Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:37 pm

Yeah everything is in the default place. We've not changed any of that.

Have turned on Verbose logging and there is more info about problems with the cache:

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 FILE VRB] {tid=948:usr=xxxx}
Updated cached copy of icon (C:\Documents and Settings\xxxx\Application Data\SoftGrid Client\Icon Cache\0ab56c39-a2bf-4da9-9e4b-0ace98bdf534.ico)

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 SWAP VRB] {hap=3A:app=putty 1.1:tid=948:usr=xxxx}
Got user-specific app icon 'C:\Documents and Settings\xxxx\Application Data\SoftGrid Client\Icon Cache\0ab56c39-a2bf-4da9-9e4b-0ace98bdf534.ico'

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 FILE VRB] {tid=948:usr=xxxx}
GetCachedIcon(file=, user=0xFFFFFFFC)

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 FILE VRB] {tid=948:usr=xxxx}
GetCachedIcon() got user id 0x2

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 FILE VRB] {tid=948:usr=xxxx}
Need to extract icon from '' (index 0)

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 FILE VRB] {tid=948:usr=xxxx}
SWExtractIconTo() failed, rc 03E00F34-00000057.
Source:
Index: 0
Target: C:\Documents and Settings\xxxx\Application Data\SoftGrid Client\Icon Cache\8b5cd26a-6e2d-4eaf-9116-60c2b3380c8e.ico

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 FILE VRB] {tid=948:usr=xxxx}
Couldn't copy icon into cache, rc 03E00F34-00000057

[06/19/2008 16:16:57.520 SWAP VRB] {hap=3A:app=putty 1.1:tid=948:usr=xxxx}
Couldn't cache icon (rc 03E00F34-00000057)

ksaunam
Elder
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:58 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Post by ksaunam » Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:23 pm

So it's problem with the icon cache; have you checked what permissions (ACLs) are effective for the Icon Cache -directory itself under user's SoftGrid Client directory? It seems that SoftGrid cannot either create new icon files into it or replace some existing ones..

/Kalle

ksaunam
Elder
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:58 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Post by ksaunam » Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:25 pm

Oh, and of course: have you checked that you don't have filesystem errors (chkdsk /f) on those machines/users that are affected? Could be some faulty component/driver blue-screening machines at some point leaving system drive in inconsistent state..

/Kalle

seq_tim
Elder
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Canton, MA (US)
Contact:

Post by seq_tim » Mon Jun 23, 2008 3:05 pm

I am just catching up here... Looking at the original posting, this looks to me like a load balancing issue.

The load balancer must direct all three ports to the same VAS for a given client. Search technet KBs for "SoftGrid + NLB" and you will find a KB article there regarding disabling the no-affinity option.
tim (Microsoft MVP for App-V)
Kahuna, TMurgent Technologies: http://www.tmurgent.com
President, Virtualization Boston: http://www.virtg.com

MikeyBalls
Still installing locally
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:26 am

Post by MikeyBalls » Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:26 pm

Thanks guys,

I thought it was NLB initially but when we have since disolved the cluster to allow the clients to point directly to one of the application servers but the users still experience the problem.

We have found a solution though. If we make the user a local admin it works as sweet as a nut but as I'm sure you can understand making all our users local admins would be like giving them all loaded shot guns. :)

So if it works with Admin priviledges then that must point to a permission problem somewhere possibly as Kalle said in the users Icon Cache directory but this is all set to allow.

A permission problem doesn't sit right with me though as if you restart the service on a non admin user it'll start working again until the user logs out and back in then they'll get the failed problem once more.

Thanks guys I really appreciate your suggestions!

Mike

seq_tim
Elder
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Canton, MA (US)
Contact:

Post by seq_tim » Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:12 pm

The issue is something specific to your environment; we do not normally see these symptoms. It is probably componded by having multiple issues, and I would guess one of those being more random in occurring which makes isolation more difficult.

Anything you can do to simplify may help. Good luck!
tim (Microsoft MVP for App-V)
Kahuna, TMurgent Technologies: http://www.tmurgent.com
President, Virtualization Boston: http://www.virtg.com

seq_tim
Elder
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Canton, MA (US)
Contact:

Re: Error ******2A-00000005

Post by seq_tim » Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:28 pm

I recently reproduced the 2A-00000005 error, and ran across this post.

2A-00000005 is only about the sft file (the JGSW ERR message is a clear hint that it is related to the sft or sft cache). Your icon issues (in which case the 2A-00000005 error did not appear) are a different issue, although ultimately they could be from the came cause.

In my case, I was using the stand-alone client with streaming. In my case of this error, I received detail that the source for the file:\\server\folder\package.sft could not be read. In fact windows error 5 is an "access denied" error, which is also important. The domain controller needed a wack, which was messing up authentication with the file server. In fact I couldn't access the share using domain credentials until I rebooted the server, which resolved my issue. Because the client does not access the sft file directly, I suspect this error only happens for the stand-alone client and for SCCM deployments, which both override the rtsp: reference.

I guess that domain controller issues, or DFS issues, are the likely cause of this error code.
tim (Microsoft MVP for App-V)
Kahuna, TMurgent Technologies: http://www.tmurgent.com
President, Virtualization Boston: http://www.virtg.com

Post Reply

Return to “Configuring App-V Server”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest