24-0000010B - Direct name is invalid, my foot

Questions, comments, and suggestions for dealing with sequencing specific applications and Sequencer itself.

Moderators: kirk, jur, kkaminsk

Post Reply
brinkcm
Guru
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

24-0000010B - Direct name is invalid, my foot

Post by brinkcm » Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:20 pm

I am at my wits end. This is another one of those errors that has no explanation, and occurs randomly. I would appreciate any and all assistance.

Take a folder ("Folder") of 300 or so .html files with one index.html. Sequence it to V:\12345678.123\Folder, so you have one OSD that points to iexplore.exe with a parameter of V:\12345678.123\Folder\index.html. Run the sequence, and ponder why you get "Directory name is invalid". Working directory, file name, parameter, everything exists. You can try sequencing it another five or six times, a co-worker tries it once and gets the same thing. They try sequencing it again and it magically works.

Now publish an OSD to the same sequence to launch explorer, or edit the current OSD's local cache. Browse to your virtual drive -- V: for us -- and try to find the folder you sequenced to, say V:\12345678.123. It will not be visible. This is the core issue that keeps popping up.

Reset your imagination and try this scenario. Sequence a few DLLs to system and system32, plus a few INIs to windir. Point the OSD to an executable off of a network drive. Run the sequence, everything works beautifully. Take that folder off the network and put it inside the sequence, pointing the OSD to the new location. Check the OSD for proper paths after the sequencer finishes with it.

Code: Select all

SoftGrid Error
The SoftGrid Client could not launch CTI_1035DB 1.1.0.0.

The directory name is invalid

Error code: 410038-00001D24-0000010B
Head explodes. There it is, and all I did was copy a directory full of files! Without even resetting the OSD the client is yet again magically unable to see the virtualized directory.

Help! (And no, this isn't caused by win16/console. Happens with win32/windows too.)

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" standalone="no"?>
<SOFTPKG GUID="151BDB27-3820-4A59-B1DE-FE3F66067BC0" NAME="CTI_1035DB" VERSION="1.1.0.0">
	<IMPLEMENTATION>
		<CODEBASE HREF="rtsp://%SFT_SOFTGRIDSERVER%:554/CTI_1035DB/CTI_1035DB_7.sft" GUID="CF46ED9D-5320-4B90-972F-45E71A3B947B" SYSGUARDFILE="20066310.P02\osguard.cp" SIZE="1650945790" PARAMETERS="v:\20066310.P02\1035DB\CT1035.EXE" FILENAME="20066310.P02\LaunchIt.exe"/>
		<OS VALUE="Win2K"/>
		<OS VALUE="Win2KSvr"/>
		<OS VALUE="Win2KTS"/>
		<OS VALUE="Win2003Svr"/>
		<OS VALUE="Win2003TS"/>
		<OS VALUE="WinVista"/>
		<OS VALUE="WinXP"/>
		<VIRTUALENV TERMINATECHILDREN="FALSE">
			<ENVLIST/>
		</VIRTUALENV>
		<WORKINGDIR>v:\20066310.P02\1035DB</WORKINGDIR>
		<VM VALUE="Win16">
			<SUBSYSTEM VALUE="console"/>
		</VM>
	</IMPLEMENTATION>
	<DEPENDENCY>
		<CLIENTVERSION VERSION="3.1.2.2"/>
	</DEPENDENCY>
	<SUITE NAME="CTI_1035DB"/>
	<TITLE/>
	<ABSTRACT/>
	<MGMT_SHORTCUTLIST>
		<SHORTCUT LOCATION="%CSIDL_DESKTOPDIRECTORY%" FILENAME="CTI_1035DB.lnk" OVERRIDDEN="TRUE" DISPLAY="CTI_1035DB" ICON="%SFT_MIME_SOURCE%/CTI_1035DB Icons/CTI_1035DB.ico"/>
	</MGMT_SHORTCUTLIST>
	<MGMT_FILEASSOCIATIONS>
		<PROGIDLIST/>
		<FILEEXTENSIONLIST/>
	</MGMT_FILEASSOCIATIONS>
</SOFTPKG>
Could it be osguard.cp corruption of some sort? How can I test it, if so?

EDIT: Just to be clear, I've done lots of troubleshooting on this. If I blank the WORKINGDIR element, items specified in FILENAME can still be launched but any parameters referring to items in the bubble will not be found. Again, browsing through the bubble shows nothing on V:. When no other SoftGrid application has been launched on a machine, you even get "permission denied" to the V: entirely.

DannyC
Guru
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:42 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by DannyC » Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:10 pm

Have you checked that you're WORKINGDIR is correct? The "Directory name is invalid" error usually means a typo/error in either the path/params or working dir..

See http://www.softgridguru.com/viewtopic.php?t=1988 for more discussion..

DannyC
Guru
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:42 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by DannyC » Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:41 pm

Sorry - just noticed your edit..

I did have a customer who had an issue once which sounds similar - certain PKGROOT dirs would 'disappear' resulting in a similar error to what you're seeing here - was fixed in SP1 though..

I assume you're running with recent versions?

brinkcm
Guru
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Post by brinkcm » Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:50 pm

Negative, no SP1 yet.

The package was repaired by making a change to the package, undoing it, then saving it. :P

I think the sequencer has a problem with lots of files. It's almost like the directories aren't being written 100% correctly so NTFS looks at them, freaks out, and ignores them.

DannyC
Guru
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:42 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by DannyC » Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:53 pm

Nice fix! :wink:

brinkcm
Guru
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Post by brinkcm » Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:49 pm

I just wish it didn't keep doing this! There have been a few cases where the old change-undo-save trick doesn't work.

Post Reply

Return to “Sequencing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests